CISE Professor Among Those Selected as 2016 Winners of the UFRF Professorship

The University of Florida Research Foundation has named 34 faculty members as UFRF Professors for 2016-2019.

The recognition goes to faculty who have a distinguished current record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields.

The UFRF Professors were recommended by their college deans based on nominations from their department chairs, a personal statement and an evaluation of their recent research accomplishments as evidenced by publications in scholarly journals, external funding, honors and awards, development of intellectual property and other measures appropriate to their field of expertise. In many colleges, the selection process is conducted by a special faculty committee.

“Since the professorships were created in 1997, nearly 600 UF faculty have been named UFRF Professors in recognition of their successful research performance during the previous five years and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in the future,” said David Norton, UF’s vice president for research. “Many UFRF Professors have gone on to spectacular success, earning multi-million dollar grants; publishing in the leading journals in their field; assuming leadership positions within the university; and commercializing their discoveries for the benefit of society.”

The three-year award includes a $5,000 annual salary supplement and a one-time $3,000 grant. The professorships are funded from the university’s share of royalty and licensing income on UF-generated products.

My T. Thai, Ph.D., a professor in the Department of Computer and Information Science and Engineering, was among three selected to receive the professorship from the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering.

Read the full list of recipients …

Computer & Information Science & Engineering
Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering