7 Faculty Members Receive UF Term Professorships

2021 Term Professorship Recipients

Faculty members Christina Boucher, Ph.D.; Kristy E. Boyer, Ph.D.; Kevin R.B. Butler, Ph.D.; Shigang Chen, Ph.D.; Sanjay Ranka, Ph.D.; My T. Thai, Ph.D.; and Baba Vemuri, Ph.D.; from the Department of Computer & Information Science & Engineering have been selected to receive the University of Florida Term Professorship award for 2021-2024.

The University Term Professorship was established in 2016 and is presented to 250 eligible faculty members annually. Selection of the professorships is based on an assessment of academic accomplishment by either a faculty advisory committee and/or the department chair and approved by the dean of the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering. Each award runs for 3 years and provides a $5,000 per year salary supplement to the awardee.

Christina Boucher, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Research Areas: Bioinformatics

Kristy E. Boyer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Research Areas: Human-Centered Computing

Kevin R.B. Butler, Ph.D.
Research Areas: Embedded Systems, Information Security

Shigang Chen, Ph.D.
Research Areas: Cloud Computing, Concurrency, Parallelism, and High-Performance Computing, Database, Data Science and Informatics, Energy-Aware Computing, Information Security, Networks, Pervasive and Mobile Computing

Sanjay Ranka, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Research Areas: Cloud Computing, Concurrency, Parallelism and High-Performance Computing, Data Mining, Database, Data Science and Informatics, Digital Health, Embedded and Cyber-Physical Systems, Energy-Aware Computing, Image and Signal Analysis, Internet of Things

My T. Thai, Ph.D.
Research Areas: Algorithms, Data Mining, Information Security, Networks, Concurrency, Parallelism, and High-Performance Computing

Baba Vemuri, Ph.D.
Research Areas: Computer Vision & Medical Image Computing, Image and Signal Analysis

Allison Logan
Marketing & Communications Specialist
Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering